Archery Addix banner

1 - 20 of 117 Posts

·
Registered
582 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I need a new pair of boots to take with me elk hunting...I have zero experience with backpacking let alone the mountains...Im not sure if I need hiking boots or hunting boots...Waterproof is a no brainer but I how much insulation do you guys prefer...I know I'm going to want some ankle support so I'm thinking somewhere in the 6-8 in range...So can you western boys help a flat lander out...I guess I should add I have the smallest foot on the planet so I'm pretty much limited to Danners...

·
Registered
7,602 Posts
Small boots eh?... That means .... You wear small socks?

Anyway I am looking for new boots also so interested in responses, however I am a stand hunter...

Does anyone use rubber boots? Does that rubber smell ever go away?

I was looking at Irish setter rutmaster but they smell hardcore....

·
Registered
9,427 Posts
If your into rubber type boots than look at Muck boots. They are great all around boots.

For hiking/elk hunting boots I have a pair of Irish Setters that are 8" boots and they work well. I also have a pair of cheaper Rocky Silent Stalker boots. Both are waterproof and offer different things. The Irish setters have good support and decent grip but are a bit heavier and a little noisier to walk in. The Silent Stalkers aren't as supportive but for me I like how light they are and how easy they are to hike in. Almost like wearing a light pair of running shoes just with a bit more support. They are great for spot and stalk hunting and I have no issues hiking all day in them. I personally don't like boots with lots of support as I find them a little bulky.

·
Registered
582 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Small boots eh?... That means .... You wear small socks?

Anyway I am looking for new boots also so interested in responses, however I am a stand hunter...

Does anyone use rubber boots? Does that rubber smell ever go away?